Sunday, May 26, 2024
HomeFive of the BestRanking the bosses with the most league titles since Pep Guardiola started...

Ranking the bosses with the most league titles since Pep Guardiola started managing

Pep Guardiola is celebrating another league title success after Manchester City were crowned winners of the Premier League last weekend.

It’s another triumph in the decorated career of an all-time managerial great, with the Spaniard having conquered three different divisions and led current side City to five titles in just six campaigns.

Guardiola’s greatness could grow as City chase a historic treble this season, with the Citizens set to face Manchester United in the FA Cup final and Inter Milan in the Champions League equivalent before the end of the season.


Following the latest league title added to Guardiola’s collection, we’ve looked as the most successful managers in Europe’s top five leagues since the Catalan’s career began.

Here are the managers with the most top-flight titles won in Europe’s top five leagues since Pep Guardiola began managing in 2008/09.

Laurent Blanc – 4

Laurent Blanc was a former team-mate of Guardiola at Barcelona and began his managerial career a season earlier than the Spaniard.

Blanc took charge of Bordeaux ahead of the 2007/08 season and had immediate success, as he was named Ligue 1’s Manager of the Season after leading Les Girondins to a runners-up finish. The following season got even better as Bordeaux won the Ligue 1 title for the first time in a decade and added the Coupe de la Ligue to make it a double.

Embed from Getty Images

Blanc’s performances saw him take charge of France between 2010 and 2012, before returning to club management at Paris Saint-Germain. The Parisian’s Qatari-backed takeover had seen the capital club emerge as France’s best side and he led PSG to three consecutive league titles.

He departed following that third title win at PSG and had an extended break from the game. Blanc returned to management at Al-Rayyan, before taking charge of Lyon in October 2022.

Carlo Ancelotti – 4

Carlo Ancelotti is recognised as one of football’s greatest ever managers with no coach having ever won the Champions League on more occasions than the Italian (4).

Ancelotti’s managerial career runs like a who’s who of European giants, having had spells in charge of Juventus, AC Milan, Chelsea, PSG, Real Madrid (twice), and Bayern Munich among others.

Ancelotti has won five league titles during his career with four of those triumphs coming since Guardiola’s first season in management. He led Chelsea to a domestic double in England during the 2009/10 season and also lifted league titles in France (2012/13), Germany (2016/17) and Spain (2021/22).

He is the only manager to have won a league title in each one of Europe’s top five leagues, having also led AC Milan to the Scudetto in 2003/04.

Jose Mourinho – 4

Jose Mourinho has been a great rival of Guardiola’s during their coaching careers, with the two having gone head-to-head on opposing sides of the El ClΓ‘sico rivalry.

Mourinho moved to Real Madrid after a decorated spell at Inter Milan, in which he led the club to consecutive Serie A titles and a historic treble, eliminating Guardiola’s Barcelona side on route to the 2010 Champions League.

The move to Spain saw the rivalry between Mourinho’s Madrid and Guardiola’s Barcelona dominate the landscape, as the two teams set new standards and competed for honours at home and in Europe.

Mourinho’s side beat Barcelona to the title during the 2011/12 season, in a campaign dubbed ‘La Liga de los RΓ©cords’ as Real Madrid broke a number of divisional records.

Los Blancos racked up a record 100 points to win the title and scored a record-breaking 121 goals to finish nine points clear of Barcelona at the top of the division.

Embed from Getty Images

Mourinho left Real Madrid and rejoined Chelsea in 2013, where he won the Premier League title during the 2014/15 campaign. It was a third league title in England for the ‘Special One’, after back-to-back triumphs during his first spell at Chelsea in 2004/05 and 2005/06.

Antonio Conte – 5

Antonio Conte has won five league titles since Guardiola’s managerial debut, with the Italian having won trophies at almost every port of call.

Conte’s greatest success came at Juventus, who he led to three consecutive Serie A titles after taking charge of the club where he made 420 appearances as a player.

Conte led Juventus to a first league title since their relegation as a result of the Calciopoli scandal and kickstarted an era of dominance as Bianconeri went on to win an unprecedented nine in a row.

Embed from Getty Images

His first title, won in 2011/12, saw Juventus end the season undefeated to become the first Serie A team to do so in the 38-game format.

After a spell in charge of Italy, he was appointed as manager of Chelsea and made an instant impact to win the Premier League title during his debut campaign in west London.

Conte’s tenure was cut short after missing out on Champions League qualification the following season, but he enhanced his reputation once again after leading Inter Milan to the 2020/21 Serie A title. That triumph was Inter’s first Scudetto in 11 years and ended Juventus’ dominance of the division.

Massimiliano Allegri – 6

Massimiliano Allegri ranks second for league titles won in Europe’s top five leagues since 2008/09, having been in charge of Juventus for much of their dominant period in Serie A.

Allegri had first lifted a league title at AC Milan in 2010/11, before replacing the aforementioned Conte at Juventus. He spent five seasons with the club and won five consecutive league titles, while also finishing as UEFA Champions League runner-ups on two occasions.

The four-time Serie A Coach of the Year departed Juventus in 2019, but was reappointed in 2021 after successor Andrea Pirlo struggled in the role.

Pep Guardiola – 11

Pep Guardiola is out in front as the most successful manager of his era, having won as many league titles as the previous two managers on this list combined.

Guardiola’s teams have dominated divisions in Spain, Germany and England, with 11 league titles won across spells at Barcelona, Bayern Munich and Manchester City.

The Spaniard has won three consecutive league titles in each of those leagues and has failed to win the title on just three occasions during his managerial career, with Real Madrid (2011/12), Chelsea (2016/17) and Liverpool (2019/20) the only teams to have been crowned champions ahead of a Guardiola side.

The Catalan coach’s detractors will argue Guardiola has been given advantageous opportunities to succeed, but his sides have produced some of the most scintillating football seen in the modern game.

Barcelona twice won the Champions League under his guidance and are regarded, by many, as the greatest club side of all time, while Manchester City are chasing a treble this season under Guardiola’s guidance.

Having already achieved unprecedented feats in reaching 100 points in a Premier League season and winning a domestic treble, Guardiola’s side are chasing further immortality this season.

Read –Β Wing Wizards: Luis Figo – Brilliance and betrayal

Read Also –Β Noughties Nines: Henrik Larsson – Celtic’s King of Kings

Subscribe to our social channels:

Facebook | Instagram | Twitter | YouTube

Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Most Popular

Related Posts