Tuesday, April 23, 2024
HomeFive of the BestRanking the largest title winning margins in Premier League history

Ranking the largest title winning margins in Premier League history

Liverpool’s coronation as Premier League champions inched closer tonight with the Reds brushing aside Crystal Palace 4-0 at Anfield.

Jurgen Klopp’s side are now just two points – or a Man City draw- away from lifting their first top-flight in three decades, the reigning European Champions relentless, record-breaking form seeing them move within sight of a whole host of other Premier League landmarks, including most wins and most points in a single season.

Given their whopping 23 point lead at present, could the Reds also end their long wait for a league title with the division’s biggest ever winning margin?

Here are the largest title-winning margins in Premier League history…

Manchester United – 11 points (2012/13)

Having seen ‘noisy neighbours’ Manchester City snatch their first Premier League title in dramatic fashion the previous season, Sir Alex Ferguson would make an inspired signing in his bid to recapture supremacy, raiding Arsenal for captain and reigning Footballer of the Year, Robin van Persie.

The Dutchman’s arrival would prove to be the catalyst for United regaining the title in style, finishing as the Premier League’s top goalscorer with 26 goals – including hitting a hat-trick against Aston Villa as a record-extending 20th top-flight crown was secured with four games to spare.

In what would prove to be the final season of Ferguson’s glittering Old Trafford career, United would move top of the Premier League after victory over Queens Park Rangers in late November, failing to relinquish their position and eventually finishing a comfortable 11 points clear of City in second.

Arsenal – 11 points (2003/04)

Arguably the most famous of Premier League campaigns, Arsenal wrote themselves into the history books by completing an unbeaten season under Arsene Wenger, the north London side forever immortalised as the ‘The Invincibles’ following their title success of 2003/04.

Thierry Henry would prove to be the inspiration behind their triumph, scoring 30 Premier League goals to scoop a Player of the Year double in addition to the league’s Golden Boot.

Their unbeaten run would begin with a 2-1 victory over Everton at Highbury, before defeating Leicester by the same scoreline on the final day of the season to complete their historic achievement.

The club’s unprecedented consistency would see them win the league with four games to spare and finish 11 points clear of a Chelsea side recently backed by the billions of Roman Abramovich, Arsenal crowned champions of England for 13th time on 90 points – just one short of the then Premier League record.

Embed from Getty Images

Chelsea – 12 points (2004/05)

Chelsea would emerge as a new powerhouse of English football following Roman Abramovich’s takeover of the club, but it would be the arrival of Jose Mourinho as manager that would truly elevate the club to the top.

Announcing himself as the ‘Special One’, Mourinho would deliver on that outlandish statement with a brilliant debut season in the Premier League, guiding the Blues to a first league title in 50 years.

The west London side’s charge towards the summit would see them lose just once all season, whilst their 15 goals conceded remains an all-time low for a Premier League campaign.

Frank Lampard’s double would spark the title celebrations at Bolton with three games to spare, Chelsea breaking the then Premier League record points total and finishing 12 points clear of defending champions and runners-up Arsenal.

Embed from Getty Images

Manchester United – 18 points (1999/2000)

Sir Alex Ferguson’s Manchester United side may have secured a historic treble the previous season, but the height of their domestic dominance was arguably the following year, securing the second of three consecutive titles by a record-breaking margin.

The title had been secured by just a single point ahead of Arsenal during that treble-winning season, but any hopes of a title race for neutrals was soon ended as United racked up 11 consecutive victories to finish the season, finishing on a then record 91 points and a huge 18 clear of a Gunners’ side left trailing in their wake.

Captain Roy Keane would be the driving force behind one of the most dominant teams English football has seen, the Irishman being awarded the PFA Player’s Player of the Year and Football Writer’s Footballer of the Year at the end of the season.

Embed from Getty Images

Manchester City – 19 points (2017/18)

Having earned a wealth of silverware during spells in Spain and Germany, Pep Guardiola would win a third different domestic title in record-breaking fashion at Manchester City.

City would win 19 of their opening 20 fixtures to open up an unassailable lead at the top, thrashing the likes of Liverpool (5-0), Watford (6-0) and Crystal Palace (5-0) in succession and playing some of the finest football the Premier League has seen.

Embed from Getty Images

The title was secured with five games still to play, their dominance resulting in a whole host of league records including most wins (32), most points (100), most goals scored (106) and most consecutive victories (18).

Nearest challengers Manchester United would be a record-breaking 19 points behind at the close of the season, the club’s campaign one which many thought would never be bettered, though Liverpool now have their list of accolades firmly in their sights.

Read – Five of the longest unbeaten runs in Premier League history

Read Also – Five of the most boring title races in Premier League history


Most Popular

Related Posts