Premier League trio make up shortlist of UEFA Player of the Year award

Kevin De Bruyne, Jorginho and N’Golo Kante have been named on the three-man shortlist for the UEFA Player of the Year award.

The trio’s acknowledgement comes after a fine season for Premier League teams in Europe, with Chelsea defeating Manchester City in the third all-English Champions League final in May.


De Bruyne was named as the PFA Player of the Season after inspiring City to title success and a runners-up finish in the Champions League, whilst Chelsea duo Kante and Jorginho were both influential figures as the Blues were crowned champions of Europe.

The latter also starred during Italy’s triumphant campaign at Euro 2020 this summer, with the Azzurri defeating England on penalties to win the trophy.

Manchester City and Chelsea are also both represented in the UEFA Men’s Coach of the Year category with Pep Guardiola and Thomas Tuchel joining Italy manager Roberto Mancini on the three-man shortlist.

The award winners are set to be named during the group stage draw for this season’s Champions League, set to take place on Thursday 26 August at the Haliç Congress Center in Istanbul, Turkey.

Read – Fantasy Premier League: Four of the best captains for gameweek two

Read Also – Appreciating every player to score a hat-trick for Man United in the PL era

Subscribe to our social channels:

Facebook | Instagram | Twitter | YouTube

Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments