Monday, May 27, 2024
HomeOpinion/FeaturesRemembering when each 'Big Six' club last won the league title

Remembering when each ‘Big Six’ club last won the league title

The ‘Big Six’ are widely considered to be the top clubs in the Premier League right now, but for many of them it has been a long time since they last won the title. 

We take a look back at the last time each of those clubs finished first in the table and how they did it.

The last time each Big Six club won the league title:

Arsenal – 2003/04

The Gunners became just the second side in English football history to go an entire league campaign unbeaten, following on from Preston North End in 1888/89. Arsenal ended the season with 26 wins, 12 draws and zero defeats, accumulating 90 points in the process.

Tactical Analysis: Arsenal’s legendary Invincibles

Chelsea – 2016/17

Following one of the all-time worst title defences in 2015/16, Chelsea bounced straight back under Antonio Conte the following year. The Italian’s decision to move to a back three proved inspirational, as the Blues accrued 93 points to finish top of the pile for the second time in three seasons.

Ranking all 20 third kits in the Premier League for 23/24

Liverpool – 2019/20

After waiting 30 long years for a league title, Liverpool lifted the Premier League trophy in the most extraordinary circumstances. The Covid-19 pandemic interrupted the season, and even threatened to end it prematurely, but the campaign was concluded behind closed doors as the Reds lost just three games all term, picking up 99 points.

Five former England regulars struggling to make Euro 2024

Man Utd – 2012/13

It’s been a decade since Manchester United last hoisted the Premier League title – and it could be another before they do so again, given their constant struggles. Sir Alex Ferguson led the Red Devils to one last trophy before heading off into the sunset, guiding arguably his weakest ever squad to glory as they coasted to 89 points and top spot.

Five of the best ever Man Utd comebacks

Man City – 2022/23

Arsenal were denied their first Premier League title in almost 20 years last season when Manchester City hauled them back to win their fifth in six seasons. They picked up 89 points following a memorable campaign in which they won The Treble.

FM24: Release date and new features of new game

Spurs – 1960/61

The Tottenham team of 1960-63 is considered to be the greatest in the club’s history and are the last to win a league title. Bill Nicholson’s men won the First Division and FA Cup double in 1961, before retaining the cup the following season and reaching the semi-finals of the European Cup. The next year they claimed the club’s first European trophy, the Cup Winners’ Cup.

Read – Five great footballers who retired early like Eden Hazard

See Also – The most iconic celebrations in Premier League history

Subscribe to our social channels:

Facebook | Instagram | Twitter | YouTube

Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Most Popular

Related Posts