harry kane heung-min son spurs premier league

Who do the Bookies fancy to win the 20/21 PFA Player of the Year award

We’re now well underway in what has been a fascinating start to the 2020/21 Premier League season, the opening months of the campaign having provided supporters with both enthralling entertainment and intrigue.

The current season promises to be one of the most open in recent memory and has seen a host of notable names begin in brilliant form, with some of the Premier League’s biggest stars firmly in contention for the end of season accolades.

The PFA Player of the Year is regarded as the most prestigious of individual awards in English football, recognition as the finest player in the division by fellow professionals and opponents.

So for those of you interested in the best betting sites like efirbet.com, we’ve decided to look at how the bookies view the race to be crowned as the Premier League’s best. Here are the five favourites to win the 2020/21 PFA Player of the Year award:

Bruno Fernandes – 11/1

Bruno Fernandes has had a transformative impact on the Manchester United side since his signing from Sporting Lisbon last winter, the midfielder proving the catalyst behind the club’s run to a top four finish and Champions League qualification last season.

Fernandes has established himself as one of the most creative talents in the division and an irreplaceable figure in the Red Devils’ side, his ability and importance underlined by his odds of 11/1 to be named as the PFA Player of the Year.

The 26-year-old has provided 11 goal involvements in just 10 starts in the league so far this season, adding a further four goals and an assist in five Champions League appearances.

No player in the division has created more chances, whilst his average of 3.4 key passes per game is also the highest of any player.

United have struggled for consistency under Ole Gunnar Solskjaer, though the club’s better performances tend to centre around Fernandes who has become the heartbeat of a transitional side.

Should the Red Devils enjoy a successful campaign, he is likely to be amongst the frontrunners for the Premier League’s individual accolades.

Mohamed Salah – 10/1

Mohamed Salah has started the new season in superb fashion and will once again be central to Liverpool’s hopes of securing the title, the forward a leading contender to win the PFA Player of the Year award for a second time.

Salah was named as the division’s finest following a record-breaking 32-goal season during the 2017/18 campaign and has continued to flourish as part of the Reds’ potent attack, with no Premier League player having been directly involved in more goals since his debut for the Reds.

The Egyptian international began the new season in emphatic fashion with a hat-trick against Leeds at Anfield, and has scored nine goals and provided a further two assists in 10 league appearances during the 2020/21 campaign to date.

Salah has delivered with unerring regularity since making the move to Merseyside and there are few forwards in world football capable of producing his goalscoring numbers, the 28-year-old amongst the favourites to win the Golden Boot his season.

Salah finished as the division’s leading scorer in back-to-back campaigns in 2017/18 and 2018/19 before falling just short last season, and a third Golden Boot accolade would take the star level with Alan Shearer and behind only Thierry Henry in the history of the Premier League.

Son Heung-Min – 7/1

Son Heung-Min is currently enjoying the finest form of his career as part of a scintillating double-act at Tottenham, terrorising defences alongside Harry Kane to fire the north London side to the top of the division.

Son has scored 10 goals in just 11 appearances and provided a further four assists, his mix of speed, skill and industry seeing him emerge as one of Europe’s best wide forwards.

The 28-year-old has directly combined for 12 goals with Kane already this season, just one short of the all-time single season record set between two teammates – the 13 goal combinations of Alan Shearer and Chris Sutton in a 42-game Premier League season in 1994/95.

Spurs’ strong start to the season had been built on solidity in defence and the potency of an irrepressible forward line, raising hopes the club can end their long wait for silverware this season.

Spurs have won just a solitary League Cup since the turn of the century and have not been crowned as champions of England since 1961, the prospect of major honours arriving at the Tottenham Hotspur Stadium largely boosted by the sensational showings of Spurs’ South Korean.

Kevin De Bruyne – 6/1

Last season’s winner following a record-breaking season for Manchester City, Kevin De Bruyne equalled the Premier League’s single season assist record to win the 2019/20 edition of the accolade.

De Bruyne has long been amongst the division’s best and last season’s performances proved head and shoulder above the rest of the league, the Belgian arguably the best midfielder in the world right now.

The 29-year-old is often effortlessly brilliant and is regarded as a 6/1 chance to retain the honour, with only Thierry Henry and Cristiano Ronaldo having previously won back-to-back awards in the Premier League era.

De Bruyne became Manchester City’s first ever recipient of the award last season despite a disappointing campaign for Pep Guardiola’s side, who have once again struggled to replicate the performances they have shown in recent years this time around.

De Bruyne’s displays have often remained a source of consistent excellence, however, including providing eight goal involvements in just nine Premier League starts this season and registering four assists in two appearances in the Champions League group stages.

Harry Kane – 3/1

Harry Kane could be found at odds of around 20/1 at the start of the season following his injury problems of recent campaigns, but the Tottenham forward is now the favourite to be crowned as the PFA Player of the Year following a record-breaking start to the season.

Kane has incredibly provided 28 goal involvements in just 19 appearances in all competitions so far this season, including scoring nine league goals and leading the Premier League for assists with 10.

The England captain has taken his game to new heights as the all-action focal point of the Spurs attack, dropping deeper to pick up possession and create chances in addition to retaining his clinical goal threat.

Kane has now directly contributed to 78% of Spurs’ league goals this season and his performances have catapulted the north Londoners into title talk conversation, the winning pedigree of Jose Mourinho and the elite talents of their talisman a potent combination.

It seems beyond comprehension that Kane can maintain his current standards across the entirety of the campaign, though he has shown no signs of slowing to date and is a real chance to become just the third player to score 20+ goals and provide 20+ assists in a single league season amongst Europe’s major leagues.

Only Thierry Henry and Lionel Messi have previously ever reached such levels of productivity, company of the very highest order that Kane is bidding to emulate.

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments