ruben dias man city

Ruben Dias named as FWA Footballer of the Year

Ruben Dias has been named as the FWA Footballer of the Year following his performances in Manchester City’s 2020/21 title-winning campaign.

Dias finished ahead of both teammate Kevin De Bruyne and Tottenham striker Harry Kane in the voting, to cap a superb first season in the Premier League for the Portugal international.


The 24-year-old signed for City in a club-record £62m deal from Benfica last summer and has proven a huge influence on the club’s regaining of the Premier League title, turning a previously vulnerable defence into a position of strength for the newly-crowned champions.

Pep Guardiola’s side have won a third league title in just four seasons this term and boast the Premier League’s best defensive record, Dias’ partnership with a resurgent John Stones contributing to a 15-game winning run that saw just five goals conceded between December and March.

Dias becomes the fifth Manchester City to win the accolade after Don Revie, Bert Trautmann, Tony Book and Raheem Sterling, and succeeds Liverpool captain Jordan Henderson who was named as winner for the 2019/20 season.

The centre-back is also amongst the frontrunners to win the PFA Players’ Player of the Year award that will be announced next month.

Read – Picking our 2020/21 Premier League Team of the Year

Read Also – Champions: Six games that shaped Manchester City’s title triumph

Subscribe to our social channels:

Facebook | Instagram | Twitter | YouTube

Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments