mo salah

PFA Player of the Year announced

It’s the time of year when the top awards are handed out, and while it’s the team awards that matter most, it is also right that we honour the individuals that have lit up the game.

Sunday night marked the 45th annual PFA awards, where the two headline titles on offer are of course the Player of the Year and Young Player of the Year.

In the category of Player of the year, the competition was stiff, with the likes of David de Gea, Leroy Sane, David Silva, Harry Kane, Kevin de Bruyne and Mohamed Salah all vying to win the prestigious award.

However there could only be one winner while Kevin de Bruyne was the front runner for the award from almost the first whistle, the eventual winner was Liverpool’s Mohamed Salah who has had a simply sensational season for the Reds.

Salah has scored an incredible 41 goals and provided 13 assists this season, driving Liverpool to third in the Premier League and to the Champions League semi-finals.

Player of the Year Top three

  1. Mo Salah – Liverpool
  2. Kevin de Bruyne – Man City
  3. Harry Kane – Tottenham

All of this made even more impressive considering it his first season at the club and his first season back in the Premier League after being labelled a flop after a failed stint at Chelsea.

De Bruyne, for all his attacking and creative talents, was a very close second while Harry Kane was finished third in the voting.

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments