PFA Young Player of the Year announced

It’s the time of year when the top awards are handed out, and while it’s the team awards that matter most, it is also right that we honour the individuals that have lit up the game.

Sunday night marked the 45th annual PFA awards, where the two headline titles on offer are of course the Player of the Year and Young Player of the Year.

In the category of Young Player of the year, the competition was stiff, with the likes of Marcus Rashford, Raheem Sterling, Leroy Sane, Harry Kane all vying to win the prestigious award. There was also a shock, but deserved nomination for Fulham’s 17-year-old Ryan Sessegnon who became the first player to be nominated from outside of the top flight.

However there could only be one winner and that was Manchester City’s Leroy Sane who has enjoyed a terrific season for the newly crowned champions.

Sane has scored 13 goals and provided 16 assists this season, as well as producing some wonderful football and deservedly claims the award ahead of 25-year-old Harry Kane and his Man City teammate Raheem Sterling.

Young Player of the Year Top three

  1. Leroy Sane – Man City
  2. Harry Kane – Tottenham
  3. Raheem Sterling – Man City

Sane also becomes the first player to win the PFA Young Player of the Year and win the Premier League in the same season since Cristiano Ronaldo did the same back in 2007, and we know how that turned out.

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments