Tuesday, May 28, 2024
HomeFive of the BestEvery Manchester City player to win the FWA Footballer of the Year...

Every Manchester City player to win the FWA Footballer of the Year award

Phil Foden has been named the FWA Footballer of the Year for 2023/24, following a career-best campaign from the Manchester City midfielder.

The 23-year-old has scored 25 goals in all competitions and provided 10 assists, with his performances recognised by the Football Writers’ Association.

He has become the sixth player to win the award at Manchester City, and the fourth since 2019. We’ve looked at every Manchester City player to win the FWA Footballer of the Year award.

Don Revie – 1954/55

Don Revie became the first Manchester City player to win the FWA Footballer of the Year in 1954/55.

Revie was recognised after scoring 10 goals during the campaign, as Manchester City finished seventh in the First Division and reached the FA Cup final, losing to Newcastle.

The forward had become the centre-piece of a new tactical set-up dubbed the ‘Revie Plan’, in which the England international dropped deep into midfield in a similar fashion to the modern false nine.

Revie later became best known for his managerial career, in particular a successful era at Leeds United in which the club won two league titles, the FA Cup, the League Cup and two Inter-Cities Fairs Cups. He left Elland Road to take charge of the England national team.

Bert Trautmann – 1955/56

Manchester City made it back-to-back successes in the FWA award as Bert Trautmann collected the accolade in 1955/56.

The German goalkeeper became a club legend after making 545 appearances for the Citizens, with none more memorable than his showing in the 1956 FA Cup final.

Trautmann suffered a serious neck injury diving at the feet of Birmingham City’s Peter Murphy on 73 minutes but played the remainder of the game as City won 3-1 to lift the trophy at Wembley. It was later revealed he had dislocated five vertebrae, with one broken in two, and he missed a large part of the following season.

Raheem Sterling – 2018/19

Raheem Sterling became the first Manchester City player in 63 years to win the FWA Footballer of the Year in 2018/19.

Not since Trautmann’s triumph had a Citizens player been recognised, but the club’s unprecedented domestic treble saw Sterling star. Pep Guardiola’s team became the first side to win the Premier League, FA Cup and League Cup in the same season, with Sterling scoring 25 goals in all competitions.

His campaign included the decisive spot-kick in the League Cup final win over Chelsea and two goals as City thrashed Watford 6-0 in the FA Cup final.

Ruben Dias – 2020/21

Having finished as distant runners-up to Liverpool in the previous season’s title race, the arrival of Ruben Dias restored Manchester City to the Premier League’s summit in 2020/21.

The centre-back signed from Benfica in a £62m deal and turned an area of weakness into a position of strength, emerging as the successor to Vincent Kompany as the club’s leader in defence.

Dias’ performances helped the Citizens to Premier League and League Cup success, alongside reaching the Champions League final for the first time. He was named Manchester City Player of the Year, Premier League Player of the Season and the UEFA Champions League Defender of the Season, in addition to his FWA Footballer of the Year award. He is the only defender to have won the award in the Premier League era.

Erling Haaland – 2022/23

Erling Haaland collected a wealth of individual and team honours during a record-breaking debut season at Manchester City.

Haaland broke the record for goals in a Premier League campaign (36) and goals from a Premier League player in a single season across all competitions (52), as Pep Guardiola’s side swept to a historic treble.

The leading scorer in the league and Champions League, his goals helped the Citizens to a maiden European success, after beating Inter Milan 1-0 in Istanbul.

He became the first Manchester City player to win the European Golden Shoe.

Phil Foden – 2023/24

Phil Foden has followed in the footsteps of teammates past and present to be named FWA Footballer of the Year for 2023/24.

Foden has long been dubbed a special talent but he has evolved from rich promise to world-class performer this season. The 23-year-old’s 25 goals in all competitions are a personal best for a single season, in addition to 10 assists.

In the absence of Erling Haaland and Kevin De Bruyne through injuries, he has been the go-to man for Pep Guardiola’s team. Brilliant to watch, hopes will be high that he can take this form into Euro 2024.

Read – Guardiola congratulates Foden on FWA award

Read more – Foden ‘honoured’ after FWA Footballer of the Year award

Subscribe to our social channels:

Facebook | Instagram | Twitter | YouTube | TikTok

Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Most Popular

Related Posts