Southgate names England squad for World Cup qualifiers – Bamford earns first call-up

Gareth Southgate has named his England squad for the Three Lions’ World Cup qualifiers against Hungary, Andorra and Poland next month.

Southgate has included Leeds forward Patrick Bamford for the first time ahead of September’s fixtures, whilst Trent Alexander-Arnold, Nick Pope and Jesse Lingard have been recalled after missing Euro 2020.


England have named a 25-man squad for the fixtures, though Ben Chilwell has been omitted after struggling for minutes at Chelsea so far this season.

Manchester United forward Mason Greenwood has also not been included despite his early season form and reports of a potential recall, having not featured for the national side since being sent home for breaching coronavirus protocols in September 2020.

Danny Ings is another who has failed to earn a recall, despite starting the new season with two goals in two fixtures since a summer move to Aston Villa.

England currently sit top of Group I after winning each of their first three fixtures in qualification and first face a trip to face Hungary on September 2, before clashes against Andorra at home (September 5) and Poland away (September 8).

England squad in full:

Goalkeepers: Jordan Pickford, Nick Pope, Sam Johnstone

Defenders: Trent Alexander-Arnold, Reece James, Kieran Trippier, Kyle Walker, Conor Coady, Harry Maguire, John Stones, Tyrone Mings, Luke Shaw

Midfielders: Jordan Henderson, Jude Bellingham, Kalvin Phillips, Jesse Lingard, Mason Mount, Declan Rice, Jack Grealish, Bukayo Saka, Raheem Sterling, Jadon Sancho

Forwards: Harry Kane, Patrick Bamford, Dominic Calvert-Lewin

Read – Five top drawer players hoping for a transfer before the window closes

Read Also – Fantasy Premier League: Four of the best captains for gameweek 3

Subscribe to our social channels:

Facebook | Instagram | Twitter | YouTube

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments