Sunday, May 26, 2024
HomeFive of the BestRanking the five fastest players to 150 Premier League wins

Ranking the five fastest players to 150 Premier League wins

Ederson celebrated a milestone moment during Manchester City’s 3-1 win at Leeds this week, as the goalkeeper celebrated his 150th win in the Premier League.

The Brazil international has been a huge part of City’s recent success, having won four Premier League titles in five seasons and broken numerous records along the way.

Following his 150th victory in the division, we’ve looked at the five players who took the least games to reach the milestone.

Petr Cech –  217 games

Another goalkeeper who had an immediate impact on the fortunes of his side, Petr Cech signed for Chelsea as the club’s billionaire-backed regime was beginning to accelerate under Jose Mourinho.

Back-to-back league titles following in his first two seasons in west London, as Chelsea were crowned champions in 2004/05 and 2005/06. The first of those campaigns saw the Blues set a number of divisional records, including for the most wins (29) and away wins (15) in a season at that time.

Cech was crucial to their success as Chelsea conceded a record-low of just 15 goals all season, while their 25 clean sheets remains a divisional record.

Cech spent more than a decade with Chelsea and made 494 appearances in all competitions for the club, adding two further league titles and the Champions League to an extensive collection of honours. A joint-record four-time winner of the Premier League’s Golden Glove, he reached the 150-win landmark after 217 games.

Fernandinho – 216 games

Fernandinho is fourth on this list after reaching 150 wins in just one less fixture than Cech. Manchester City’s dominance of the division across the past decade makes his inclusion little surprise, with the midfielder a pivotal part of the club’s modern successes.

He won the Premier League title during his debut season in 2013/14, after completing a £34m move to the Etihad from Shakhtar Donetsk.

The Brazilian added another four Premier League titles during a decorated career with the club, captaining the side for the final two of those triumphs before his departure last summer.

His tenacious work and tactical intelligence at the base of the midfield made Fernandinho a firm favourite at Eastlands and one of the most successful imports in Premier League history.

Kevin De Bruyne – 215 games

The second of three Manchester City players on this feature, few players have had a greater influence on the modern Citizens than Kevin De Bruyne.

De Bruyne became the club’s record signing ahead of the 2015/16 campaign and has since established himself as one of the best midfielders of the Premier League era.

His list of honours includes four league titles, back-to-back PFA Player of the Year awards and two Premier League Playmaker Awards. Up to fifth in the division’s all-time assist charts, he holds the record for the most assists in a single Premier League season with 20, set in 2019/20, a landmark he shares with Arsenal icon Thierry Henry.

A sublime footballer who dissects defences with impossible ease, he raced to 150 wins in the Premier League in just 215 games. The first three of those appearances came in the colours of Chelsea, who might just regret their decision to allow De Bruyne to leave…

Patrice Evra – 213 games

Patrice Evra reached 150 wins in the Premier League in just 213 appearances, after forming part of Manchester United‘s last great side under Sir Alex Ferguson.

Evra arrived from Monaco in a 2006 winter window transfer, but suffered a baptism of fire as he struggled on debut in a Manchester Derby defeat. He recovered to show his class and became a fixture in the side, winning title after title with the Red Devils.

The Frenchman won five league titles during his time in the Premier League, including three in succession between 2007 and 2009. The second of those came alongside the Champions League, as Ferguson’s fantastic side won a memorable double during the 2007/08 campaign.

One of the best left-backs in world football at his peak and among the finest of the Premier League era, Evra was named in the PFA Team of the Season on three occasions. He made 379 appearances for United, before short spells at Juventus, Marseille and West Ham.

Ederson – 197 games

Ederson set a new record during Manchester City’s 3-1 win at Leeds last week, becoming the fastest player to reach 150 wins in the Premier League.

City have been the division’s dominant force since his arrival from Benfica in 2017, with the signing of Ederson having been a transformative one at the Etihad. In five seasons he has won four league titles, the first of which saw City crowned champions with a record-breaking 100 points.

He has also claimed the Premier League’s Golden Glove in each of the past three campaigns, while the Brazilian’s brilliance with the ball at his feet has redefined the role of modern goalkeepers.

An exceptional passer over short or long range, the accuracy of Ederson’s kicking allows City to bypass defensive lines with ease when required. In an era when goalkeepers are required to be better than even in possession, few do it better than City’s number one.

Read – Eight talking points ahead of the Premier League weekend

Read Also – Iconic Performances: A teenage Pelé conquers the world

Subscribe to our social channels:

Facebook | Instagram | Twitter | YouTube

Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Most Popular

Related Posts