15 Premier League stars nominated for FIFPro World XI

The nominations are in for the FIFPro World XI and it includes 15 players currently playing their trade in the Premier League.

Liverpool, having made it to last seasons Champions League final, have four players nominated, with Mo Salah, Sadio Mane, Virgil van Dijk and the ‘world’s best centre-back’ Dejan Lovren all making the shortlist.

Manchester United also have four, with David de Gea and Romelu Lukaku being joined by the midfield pair of Paul Pogba and Nemanja Matic.

Despite being Premier League Champions, Manchester City only have three nominees, with David Silva, Kevin de Bruyne and Kyle Walker representing the Citizens.

Chelsea and Spurs have two players each, with midfield dynamo N’Golo Kante and Belgian ace Eden Hazard being joined by Tottenham pair Harry Kane and Kieran Trippier.

Meanwhile, Everton centre-back Yerry Mina is also included.

However, despite 15 inclusions from the EPL, there are some pretty high profile names to miss out, with Gareth Bale and Sergio Aguero being two of the biggest, in what seems to be a list heavily influenced by performances at the World Cup, with Benjamin Pavard’s inclusion a clear example.

Here is the full list of nominations:

Goalkeepers: Gianluigi Buffon (Juventus, PSG, Italy) Thibaut Courtois (Real Madrid, Belgium), David De Gea (Man Utd, Spain), Keylor Navas (Real Madrid, Costa Rica), Marc-Andre ter Stegen (Barcelona, Germany).

Defenders: Jordi Alba (Barcelona, Spain), Dani Alves (PSG, Brazil), Dani Carvajal (Real Madrid, Spain), Giorgio Chiellini (Juventus, Italy), Virgil van Dijk (Liverpool, Netherlands), Diego Godin (Atletico Madrid, Uruguay), Mats Hummels (Bayern Munich, Germany), Joshua Kimmich (Bayern Munich, Germany), Dejan Lovren (Liverpool, Croatia), Marcelo (Real Madrid, Brazil), Yerry Mina (Everton, Colombia), Benjamin Pavard (France, Stuttgart), Gerard Pique (Barcelona, Spain), Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid, Spain), Thiago Silva (PSG, Brazil), Kieran Trippier (Tottenham, England), Samuel Umtiti (Barcelona, France), Raphael Varane (Real Madrid, France), Sime Vrsaljko (Atletico Madrid, Inter, Croatia), Kyle Walker (Man City, England).

Midfielders: Sergio Busquets (Barcelona, Spain), Casemiro (Real Madrid, Brazil), Philippe Coutinho (Barcelona, Brazil), Kevin De Bruyne (Man City, Belgium), Eden Hazard (Chelsea, Belgium), Andres Iniesta (Barcelona, Vissel Kobe, Spain), Isco (Real Madrid, Spain), N’Golo Kante (Chelsea, France), Toni Kroos (Real Madrid, Germany), Nemanja Matic (Man Utd, Serbia), Luka Modric (Real Madrid, Croatia), Paul Pogba (Man Utd, France), Ivan Rakitic (Barcelona, Croatia), David Silva (Man City, Spain), Arturo Vidal (Barcelona, Chile).

Forwards: Karim Benzema (Real Madrid, France), Edinson Cavani (PSG, Uruguay), Paulo Dybala (Juventus, Argentina), Antoine Griezmann (Atletico Madrid, France), Harry Kane (Tottenham, England),Robert Lewandowski (Bayern Munich, Poland), Romelu Lukaku (Man Utd, Belgium), Mario Mandzukic (Juventus, Croatia), Sadio Mane (Liverpool, Senegal), Kylian Mbappe (PSG, France), Lionel Messi (Barcelona, Argentina), Neymar (PSG, Brazil), Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid, Juventus), Mohammed Salah (Liverpool, Egypt), Luis Suarez (Barcelona, Uruguay).

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments