wayne rooney best volleys
in ,

Ranking the five Premier League seasons with the most goals scored

Often regarded as the most entertaining domestic league in world football, the Premier League is a sporting behemoth that enthrals football fans season upon season.

England’s top tier has played host to some of the most iconic players of modern times, with a wealth of attacking talents having lit up the division since its inception in the early nineties.

Each Premier League campaign has proven memorable in some form, but we’ve decided to recall the seasons which saw attacks thrive and goals scored aplenty. The division, of course, began as a 22-game competition before reducing to its current format, and our feature includes only 38-game campaigns.


Here are the five Premier League seasons with the most goals scored:

2010/11 – 1063 goals scored

The 2010/11 season proved a memorable campaign in English football as Manchester United secured a record 19th league title, Sir Alex Ferguson’s side eclipsing the landmark of arch-rivals Liverpool to become the most successful side in the history of the top flight.

The Old Trafford outfit finished as the division’s highest scoring side with 78 goals, including a 20-goal haul from Golden Boot winner Dimitar Berbatov, who became just the fourth-player in Premier League history to score five times in a single fixture against Blackburn in November.

The Bulgarian shared the award alongside former teammate and Manchester City star Carlos Tevez, the duo becoming the first joint-winners of the accolade in over a decade.

Elsewhere, Ian Holloway’s Blackpool side thoroughly entertained in their first Premier League campaign, though became the highest scoring side to be relegated from the division at the end of the campaign.

2012/13 – 1063 goals

Manchester United were once again crowned champions during another high-scoring campaign in 2012/13, in what proved to be Sir Alex Ferguson’s final season in charge at Old Trafford before retirement.

The club’s title challenge was fired by the goals of summer signing Robin van Persie, the Dutchman securing the Premier League’s Golden Boot for a second successive season during a memorable debut campaign at the club.

Gareth Bale was named as Player of the Year after enjoying the best goalscoring season of his Premier League career, whilst Michu proved the bargain of the campaign after scoring 18 times for Swansea.

Those goals were amongst 1063 goals scored throughout the season, Chelsea registering the biggest win of the Premier League campaign after thrashing Aston Villa 8-0 at Stamford Bridge in December.

The highest scoring fixtures saw an incredible ten goals shared, however, Arsenal beating Newcastle 7-3 at the Emirates and West Brom playing out a final day 5-5 draw with Manchester United as Ferguson’s dynasty ended with a goal-fest at The Hawthorns.

2016/17 – 1064

Just one goal ahead of those two aforementioned campaigns is the 2016/17 season, a year which saw Chelsea reign supreme in English football under the guidance of new manager Antonio Conte.

Despite being crowned champions, the Blues were outscored by runners-up Tottenham who finished as the Premier League’s most prolific side, backed by the goals of Harry Kane as the England international secured a second successive Golden Boot.

Kane’s league leading 29 goals came in just 30 appearances – his 0.97 goals-per-game the highest ratio in the history of the Premier League – with the Spurs striker finishing ahead of Everton’s Romelu Lukaku and Arsenal’s Alexis Sanchez in the scoring charts.

The highest scoring fixtures of the season saw Swansea beat Crystal Palace 5-4 in a thriller at the Liberty Stadium, whilst Everton’s clash against Bournemouth at Goodison Park also delivered nine goals, the aforementioned Lukaku netting a hat-trick as the Toffees ran out 6-3 winners.

2011/12 – 1066

The second-highest scoring season in Premier League history and arguably one of the most memorable, Sergio Aguero’s stoppage-time winner for Manchester City against QPR on the final day of the season securing the title in dramatic circumstances.

A thoroughly entertaining campaign saw the two Manchester sides go head-to-head at the top, with City claiming the championship by virtue of goal difference after scoring more goals than any other side.

The season saw some high scoring and unforgettable results, including Manchester United’s 8-2 thrashing of Arsenal at Old Trafford in August, and a 6-1 victory for visiting City at the same venue in the Manchester derby in October.

Arsenal’s Robin van Persie finished the season as the winner of the Golden Boot, finishing ahead of Wayne Rooney and Sergio Aguero, the Dutchman claiming the accolade for the first time in addition to being named as the PFA Players’ Player of the Year and FWA Footballer of the Year.

2018/19 – 1072

Last season saw the most ever Premier League goals scored in a 38-game campaign, with 1072 shared between the 20 top-flight clubs in a thrilling season which saw Manchester City secure back-to-back titles.

Pep Guardiola’s side finished just a point clear of runners-up Liverpool following a tense title race, the Manchester side responsible for the biggest victories of the season both home and away.

City memorably thrashed Chelsea 6-0 at the Etihad in February, whilst a 5-0 victory at relegated Cardiff was the division’s biggest away margin alongside Bournemouth’s 5-0 win at Brighton.

The race for the Golden Boot also saw a three-way tie for the first time in two decades, Liverpool duo Mohamed Salah and Sadio Mane finishing as the league’s leading scorers alongside Arsenal’s Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang.

Read – Bielsa’s Apostles: 12 players whose careers have been hugely influenced by the Leeds United manager

Read Also – Appreciating the four Premier League players to register 15 goals and 15 assists in a single

Subscribe to our social channels:

Facebook | Instagram | Twitter | YouTube

Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments