Premier League announce six new entrants into Hall of Fame

The Premier League have named the latest inductees into the division’s Hall of Fame with six new entrants confirmed.

Sergio Aguero, Paul Scholes, Vincent Kompany, Didier Drogba, Ian Wright and Peter Schmeichel are the latest names inducted, following the announcement that Wayne Rooney and Patrick Vieira would be included earlier this month.


Aguero is the highest-scoring overseas footballer in Premier League history after netting 184 goals for Manchester City in the division, with the Argentine and fellow inductee Vincent Kompany having been central figures in Manchester City’s rise over the past decade.

Paul Scholes – winner of 11 Premier League titles and the most decorated English footballer of all time – was also named as a 2022 entrant, alongside former Manchester United teammate Peter Schmeichel.

Former Chelsea forward Didier Drogba and ex-Arsenal striker Ian Wright have also been announced as entrants, taking the total up to 16 players since the Hall of Fame’s formation in 2021.

Drogba won two Premier League Golden Boots during a prolific period at Chelsea, whilst Wright became Arsenal’s all-time leading scorer during his Premier League career. His goalscoring record for the Gunners has since been eclipsed by inaugural Hall of Fame entrant Thierry Henry.

Premier League Hall of Fame inductees in full

  • Alan Shearer
  • Thierry Henry
  • David Beckham
  • Dennis Bergkamp
  • Eric Cantona
  • Steven Gerrard
  • Roy Keane
  • Frank Lampard
  • Wayne Rooney
  • Patrick Vieira
  • Ian Wright
  • Peter Schmeichel
  • Paul Scholes
  • Didier Drogba
  • Vincent Kompany
  • Sergio Aguero

Read – Zidane, Ronaldinho, Juninho – Five iconic footballers and their signature moves

Read Also – Player Analysis: Why exactly could Darwin Nunez be a generational talent?

Subscribe to our social channels:

Facebook | Instagram | Twitter | YouTube

Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments