in ,

Five longest managerial reigns in Premier League history

The Premier League’s ever-increasing finances means managers have never been under as much pressure to gain instant results, with club’s perhaps quicker than ever to push the panic button during poor periods.

Managers are often the first to fall victim when changes need to be made, and the days of managerial dynasties now seem a thing of the distant past.

We’ve decided to look back at some of those who survived the managerial merry-go-round to enjoy sustained periods of success in Premier League dugouts, here are the five longest managerial reigns in the division’s history…


Rafael Benitez, Liverpool (August 2004-June 2010)

Benitez would first arrive in English football and Merseyside in August 2004, the Spaniard arriving with a big reputation having guided Valencia to two La Liga titles and the UEFA Cup.

Despite indifferent league form during his opening seasons, he would instantly endear himself to the Liverpool faithful, winning the Champions League in dramatic fashion in Istanbul during his debut campaign before securing FA Cup success the following season.

Those achievements gave Benitez time as he sought to end the club’s long wait for a league title, though a runners-up position in 2009 would be as close as he would come during a six-year spell at Anfield.

Disputes with the owners and the sales of key players would ultimately see Benitez depart, later returning to the Premier League with spells at both Chelsea and Newcastle.

Embed from Getty Images

Harry Redknapp, West Ham (August 1994-May 2001)

Having worked as an assistant to Billy Bonds at Upton Park, Redknapp would succeed the club great and become a Premier League manager in his own right, taking sole charge of West Ham in August 1994.

Redknapp would be responsible for bringing through a host of young talent during his seven-year spell at the club, the likes of Rio Ferdinand, Frank Lampard and Joe Cole all handed their opportunity after emerging from the club’s famed academy ranks.

After guiding the club to finishes of eighth and fifth and into the UEFA Cup, Redknapp would depart in 2001 following a disagreement with chairman Terry Brown, later taking charge of the likes of Portsmouth, Southampton, Tottenham and QPR amongst a lengthy Premier League career.

Embed from Getty Images

David Moyes, Everton (March 2002-May 2013)

One of just three managers to spend over a decade with one club at Premier League level, Moyes would be appointed as Everton manager in 2002 after an impressive stint in charge of Preston North End.

Having guided the club away from relegation worries during his first months in charge, Moyes would soon begin to exert his influence on Merseyside and a series of shrewd investments would turn the club into challengers near the top of the division.

Bargain signings such as Tim Cahill and Mikel Arteta would help the club secure a top-four finish and Champions League qualification in 2005. Although the Toffees would ultimately fail to reach the UCL group stages after losing to Villarreal in the qualifiers, Moyes’ remarkable consistency on a shoe-string budget delivering eight top seven finishes in his 11 full seasons in charge.

An ill-fated move to Manchester United as Sir Alex Ferguson’s successor would dent his reputation somewhat, Moyes later taking charge of the likes of Sunderland and Real Sociedad and currently in his second spell as West Ham manager.

Embed from Getty Images

Sir Alex Ferguson, Manchester United (August 1992-May 2013)

The greatest manager in Premier League history, Ferguson would lay the foundations of his Manchester United revival prior to the rebranding of English football’s top flight, before embarking on a period of dominance that would last for two decades.

Having ended the club’s 26-year wait for a league title in the inaugural season of the Premier League, United would win a further 12 championships under Ferguson’s stewardship to eclipse arch-rivals Liverpool for most top-flight title wins.

Ferguson had spoken of his ambition to knock the Merseyside club ‘right off their f****** perch’, and he succeeded in some style, retiring in 2013 in typical fashion – with the Premier League trophy in his hands.

Embed from Getty Images

Arsene Wenger, Arsenal (October 1996-May 2018)

The Premier League’s longest managerial reign would come to an end in 2018, Arsene Wenger stepping down from his position as Arsenal manager following a career in north London that would span 22 years.

Few had heard of the Frenchman upon his arrival from Japanese football, but his innovative methods and focus on sports science quickly transformed the Gunners’ fortunes, Wenger lifting two domestic doubles and securing a third league title with a famed unbeaten season in 2004.

Embed from Getty Images

Success would prove harder to deliver in his latter years as the club counted the costs of their move to the Emirates Stadium, though he still managed to deliver silverware in the form of three FA Cups between 2014 and 2o17, whilst also maintaining the club’s position as Champions League regulars with a succession of top-four finishes.

Arsenal would choose to move in a different direction as Wenger stepped down at the end of the 2017/18 season, his record for the Premier League’s longest ever managerial reign unlikely to be beaten.

Read – Five of Chelsea’s most bizarre managerial reigns

Read Also – Sectarianism, betrayal and a pig’s head – The most controversial transfers in football history