Saturday, May 25, 2024
HomeOpinion/FeaturesBarkley, Dalot, but no Haaland! Every player to receive a FWA Footballer...

Barkley, Dalot, but no Haaland! Every player to receive a FWA Footballer of the Year vote

The winner of the FWA Footballer of the Year has been announced with Phil Foden of Manchester City recognised as the Premier League’s finest footballer this season.

Foden has claimed the prestigious prize and becomes the fifth Manchester City player to win the award in the Premier League era, after scoring 24 goals in all competitions for Pep Guardiola’s side.

The 23-year-old beat Arsenal midfielder Declan Rice to the award, earning 42% of the overall vote, while Manchester City teammate Rodri came in third.


However, 18 different players in the Premier League, from 10 different clubs, earned at least one vote from the Football Writers’ Association members, including some surprise stars.

Ollie Watkins was the highest-placed player from outside the Premier League’s ‘Big Six’, with the forward having led Villa’s push for a top-four finish with a league-leading 19 non-penalty goals and 12 assists. Watkins’ club teammate, John McGinn, also earned a nomination.

Elsewhere, Ross Barkley’s renaissance at Luton earned the midfielder at least one vote, while Jarrod Bowen’s 20-goal campaign for West Ham was also recognised.

Perhaps the most surprising vote was for Manchester United full-back Diogo Dalot, who was one of two players from Erik ten Hag’s squad to receive at least one vote, alongside Bruno Fernandes.

Manchester City, Arsenal and Liverpool all had three players receive at least one vote, though last season’s winner, Erling Haaland, failed to poll a nomination.

Every player to receive a FWA Footballer of the Year vote”

  • Phil Foden (Manchester City)
  • Declan Rice (Arsenal)
  • Rodri (Manchester City)
  • Martin Odegaard (Arsenal)
  • Ollie Watkins (Aston Villa)
  • Cole Palmer (Chelsea)
  • Virgil Van Dijk (Liverpool)
  • Mohamed Salah (Liverpool)
  • Bukayo Saka (Arsenal)
  • Bruno Guimaraes (Newcastle)
  • Bruno Fernandes (Manchester United)
  • Bernardo Silva (Manchester City)
  • John McGinn (Aston Villa)
  • Ross Barkley (Luton)
  • Alexis Mac Allister (Liverpool)
  • Diogo Dalot (Manchester United)
  • Son Heung Min (Tottenham)
  • Jarrod Bowen (West Ham United)

Read – Foden ‘honoured’ after FWA Footballer of the Year award

See more – Guardiola congratulates Foden on FWA award

Subscribe to our social channels:

Facebook | Instagram | Twitter | YouTube | TikTok

Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Most Popular

Related Posts