Friday, May 24, 2024
HomeInternationalEuro 2024: Host nation Germany name preliminary squad

Euro 2024: Host nation Germany name preliminary squad

Germany have named their preliminary squad for this summer’s European Championship as the nation prepares to host Euro 2024.

Julian Nagelsmann has confirmed his travelling party for the tournament, though the 27-man squad will need to be reduced by one player before the finals.

Bayern Munich goalkeeper Manuel Neuer will captain the Germans at the tournament, while fellow veteran Toni Kroos is back after the Real Madrid midfielder was persuaded out of international retirement to feature.

There’s Premier League representation in Arsenal’s Kai Havertz and Brighton’s Pascal Gross, while Deniz Undav – on loan at Stuttgart from the Seagulls – is also included after scoring 18 goals in the Bundesliga this season.


Ex-Manchester City stars Leroy Sane and Ilkay Gundogan are named in the squad, though there’s no place for on-loan Tottenham forward Timo Werner.

Mats Hummels, Julian Brandt, Leon Goretzka, Niklas Sule, Karim Adeyemi and Serge Gnabry are the other notable names absent from the squad.

Germany squad for Euro 2024 in full:

Goalkeepers: Manuel Neuer, Marc-Andre ter Stegen, Alexander Nubel, Oliver Baumann.

Defenders: Waldemar Anton, Benjamin Henrichs, Joshua Kimmich, Robin Koch, Maximilian Mittelstadt, David Raum, Antonio Rudiger, Nico Schlotterbech, Jonathan Tah.

Midfield: Robert Andrich, Chris Fuhrich, Pascal Gross, Ilkay Gundogan, Toni Kroos, Jamal Musiala, Aleksandar Pavlovic, Leroy Sane, Florian Wirtz.

Forwards: Maximillian Beier, Niclas Fullkrug, Kai Havertz, Thomas Muller, Deniz Undav.


Read – Euro 2024: The five favourites to win the trophy

See more – Noughties Nines: Miroslav Klose – World Cup icon

Subscribe to our social channels:

Facebook | Instagram | Twitter | YouTube | TikTok

Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Most Popular

Related Posts