UK and Ireland to host 2028 Euros amid lack of rival bidders

The UK and Ireland are set to be named as the joint-hosts of the 2028 European Championship.

Ireland, England, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland have submitted a joint-proposal to host the tournament and UEFA are expected to confirm its success next month, following a lack of rival bidders for the finals.


Turkey were understood to be interested in hosting either the 2028 or 2032 tournaments, but the Times are reporting that the nation will not challenge the UK and Ireland’s bid. Russia had also considered a bid for 2028, though that has been abandoned following the country’s invasion of Ukraine.

The UK and Ireland had initially targeted the 2030 World Cup, before turning attentions to the European Championship given concerns over how England’s bid for the 2018 World Cup ended in failure.

An announcement is expected to be finalised on April 7, with Italy expected to be confirmed as hosts for Euro 2032.

Euro 2028 will see the tournament expanded once again from 24 teams to 32 nations, though it is likely that none of the five host nations will be granted automatic entry into the finals.

Read – Five of the best players turned coaches in the Premier League

Read Also – Heroes and Villains: FA Cup quarter-finals

Subscribe to our social channels:

Facebook | Instagram | Twitter | YouTube

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments