mo salah
in ,

The five favourites to win the 2018/19 Player of the Year award

Our beloved Premier League is well and truly back up and running and as much as the modern media-savvy footballer will always preach the importance of their team doing well over them personally, we all know that they are all highly competitive when it comes to individual awards.

One individual award that the Premier League has to offer and is by far the most prestigious is the PFA Player of the Year Award, which is voted for by all the professional players currently plying their trade in the English top-flight. With that in mind we take a look at best Premier League Betting Offers to win the 2018/19 POTY.

David Silva 9/1

The man nicknamed “Merlin,” by his teammates for his mercurial ability on the ball has started this season in sublime form and there would be few arguments if the Manchester City playmaker was handed this most illustrious of awards at the end of this campaign.

Since signing for City from Valencia back in 2010 the left-footed maestro have been a joy to watch, with his awareness and technique of a level that will surely see him remembered as an all-time Premier League great.

It is very likely that his club will win the English top-flight again this season and if they do so Silva will undoubtedly be one of their star performers, making him a decent shout to win the 2018/19 POTY.

Embed from Getty Images

Naby Keita 9/1

Liverpool’s highly-rated £57 million summer signing from Bundesliga side RB Leipzig may not have scored or provided an assist during his first three appearances, but the Bookies are obviously expecting him to play a key role in Jurgen Klopp’s side Premier League title charge this season.

Keita has already won plenty of plaudits for his performances for the Reds so far, with the Guinean international adding plenty of dynamism and guile to his new side’s midfield.

Liverpool are being tipped by many to finally end their 29 year wait to win a league title this season and if they do so, based on early evidence 23-year-old Keita will have a major part to play in their success.

Embed from Getty Images


Sergio Aguero 9/1

When it comes to pure finishing ability Argentine striker Aguero is right up there with the very best English football has ever seen. The 29-year-old has now scored over 200 goals for Manchester City and has started this season in sensational form, netting twice against Chelsea in the Community Shield, as well as scoring a wonderful hat-trick against Huddersfield in the Premier League.

Had it not been for persistent fitness issues the lethal hitman would probably have a lot more than one Premier League Golden Boot to his name.

Embed from Getty Images

Harry Kane 9/1

England captain and Spurs talisman Kane has established himself as one of World Football’s leading out-and-out number nines, with the 25-year-old striker netting an amazing 84 goals over the course of the last three Premier League seasons.

Kane is very much Mr.Spurs and if the North London club can finally end their much-publicised trophy drought this season then he will be one of the main contenders to be crowned as the league’s best player.

Embed from Getty Images

Mohamed Salah 7/1

Last season POTY and Golden Boot winner Mohamed Salah remains favourite to regain his crown, with his two goals in Liverpool’s opening three games making a mockery of those who claimed he may just be a one season wonder.

Egyptian international Salah scored the most amount of goals ever in a 38 game Premier League season when he found the onion bag 32 times, which is a truly frightening achievement when you consider that he does play as a central striker or take penalties and free-kicks.

Embed from Getty Images

Barring a major injury, Salah will be there to thereabouts when English Football’s most prestigious individual award is handed out next May.

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments