Friday, May 24, 2024
HomeFive of the BestThe longest ever unbeaten runs from Premier League players

The longest ever unbeaten runs from Premier League players

Rodri’s remarkable run without defeat in a Manchester City shirt continued at the weekend with the Spaniard extending his streak to 49 games at Fulham.

The midfielder has been absent for each of Manchester City’s three league defeats this season and was last on the losing side in a Premier League game in February 2023.

Rodri still has some way to go to catch the longest run of consecutive games without a defeat from a Premier League player, with Arsenal’s Invincibles side unsurprisingly dominating as we run through the top five.

The longest unbeaten runs from Premier League players:

=5. Ricardo Carvalho (Chelsea) and Jens Lehmann (Arsenal) – 47 games

Jens Lehmann is the first of four players from Arsenal’s ‘Invincibles’ side who feature on this list with the German goalkeeper having gone 47 consecutive games unbeaten in the Premier League.

Signed from Borussia Dortmund ahead of the 2003/04 campaign, Lehmann completed his first season in English football without a league defeat as Arsenal won the title in historic fashion.

His first loss came in the 10th game of the following season as the Gunners lost 2-0 at Manchester United, in a fiery clash dubbed ‘The Battle of the Buffet’.

Ricardo Carvalho also went 47 successive league games without defeat for Chelsea. The Portugal international was a key figure in the side that won back-to-back titles under Jose Mourinho after following his manager from Porto to Stamford Bridge in 2004, though his undefeated run came between 2006 and 2008.

After featuring during a 2-1 defeat to Tottenham in November 2006, Carvalho was not on the losing side again until October 2008. He missed each of the Blues’ league defeats in the period between those results.

Iconic Duos: Chelsea’s impregnable pairing made of steel and silk, Terry and Carvalho

=4. Kolo Toure and Thierry Henry (Arsenal) – 48 games

Kolo Toure and Thierry Henry each recorded 48-game runs without losing during Arsenal’s peak under Arsene Wenger.

Each were members of the club’s Invincibles team, as Arsenal became the first team since Preston North End in the inaugural Football League season, 115 years earlier, to complete a top-flight campaign without losing.

Henry was the driving force of that title success and was named PFA Players’ Player of the Year after scoring 30 goals to win the Premier League Golden Boot in 2003/04.

Noughties Nines: Thierry Henry – Premier League King

2. Rodri (Manchester City) – 49 games*

Rodri’s record reached 49 games without defeat after Manchester City’s 4-0 win at Fulham.

The Spaniard last lost a Premier League game at Tottenham in February 2023, a run of 49 games and 15 months. This season, the 27-year-old has missed four Premier League games and the Citizens have lost three of them.

Integral to Pep Guardiola’s winning machine.

1. Sol Campbell (Arsenal) – 56 games

Sol Campbell’s holds the all-time record after the Arsenal defender completed 56 games without a Premier League defeat for the Gunners.

After being part of the losing side at Southampton in November 2002, Campbell missed the club’s three further defeats during the 2002/03 season through a mix of injury and suspension.

The following campaign saw Arsenal crowned champions without losing a game, with Campbell’s incredible run eventually coming to an end at Manchester United in October 2004.

He had gone almost two entire years between Premier League defeats.

Read – Defensive Rocks: Sol Campbell – The immovable Invincible

See more – Premier League weekend: Five things we learned

Subscribe to our social channels:

Facebook | Instagram | Twitter | YouTube | TikTok

Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Most Popular

Related Posts