Thursday, May 23, 2024
HomeOpinion/FeaturesThe 2023 Ballon d'Or vote - Final Rankings

The 2023 Ballon d’Or vote – Final Rankings

Lionel Messi has been named as winner of the Ballon d’Or for a record-extending eighth time, with the 36-year-old recognised as world football’s finest player for 2023.

Messi’s eighth crown comes after leading Argentina to World Cup success in Qatar last winter, where the forward scored seven goals at the tournament – including a final brace against France – to win the Golden Ball.

Erling Haaland was runner-up for the accolade after a record-breaking debut season at Manchester City, one which saw the Norwegian score 52 goals in all competitions as the Citizens won a Premier League, FA Cup and Champions League treble under Pep Guardiola.


Kylian Mbappe, the leading scorer at the 2022 World Cup, rounded off the top three, while Jude Bellingham was the highest placed Englishman in the vote, at 18th. The 20-year-old also collected the Kopa Trophy as world football’s best young talent, ahead of Bayern Munich’s Jamal Musiala.

Aitana Bonmatí was named the 2023 Ballon d’Or Féminin winner, having formed part of the Barcelona team that won a continental treble last season and the Spain squad who won the Women’s World Cup for the first time. Bonmati was named as Player of the Tournament in that latter success and finished ahead of Chelsea’s Sam Kerr and club teammate Salma Paralluelo in the vote.

Ballon d’Or 2023 Final Rankings

1st – Lionel Messi (Inter Miami and Argentina)
2nd – Erling Haaland (Man City and Norway)
3rd – Kylian Mbappe (PSG and France)
4th – Kevin De Bruyne (Man City and Belgium)
5th – Rodri (Man City and Spain)
6th – Vinicius Junior (Real Madrid and Brazil)
7th – Julian Alvarez (Man City and Argentina)
8th – Victor Osimhen (Napoli and Nigeria)
9th – Bernardo Silva (Man City and Portugal)
10th – Luka Modric (Real Madrid and Croatia)
11th – Mo Salah (Liverpool and Egypt)
12th – Robert Lewandowski (Barcelona and Poland)
13th – Yassine Bounou (Al Hilal and Morocco)
14th – Ilkay Gundogan (Barcelona and Germany)
15th – Emiliano Martinez (Aston Villa and Argentina)
16th – Karim Benzema (Al-Ittihad and France)
17th – Khvicha Kvaratskhelia (Napoli and Georgia)
18th – Jude Bellingham (Real Madrid and England)
19th – Harry Kane (Bayern Munich and England)
20th – Lautaro Martinez (Inter Milan and Argentina)
21st – Antoine Griezmann (Atletico Madrid and France)
22nd – Kim Min-jae (Bayern Munich and South Korea)
23rd – Andre Onana (Man United and Cameroon)
24th – Bukayo Saka (Arsenal and England)
25th – Josko Gvardiol (Man City and Croatia)
26th – Jamal Musiala (Bayern Munich and Germany)
27th – Nicolo Barella (Inter Milan and Italy)
=29th – Randal Kolo Muani (PSG and France)
=29th – Martin Odegaard (Arsenal and Norway)
30th – Ruben Dias (Man City and Portugal)

Read – The five youngest players to win the Ballon d’Or

Read Also – Remembering when a 21-year-old Ronaldo Nazario won the Ballon d’Or

Subscribe to our social channels:

Facebook | Instagram | Twitter | YouTube

Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Most Popular

Related Posts