mo salah

Revealed: Official PFA Premier League team of the year

With the 2017/2018 Premier League season entering it’s final stages it is now the time of the year when awards are handed out to those players that have performed best over the course of this campaign.

Here is the official Premier League team of the Year as voted by players from each Premier League club.

Goalkeeper – David De Gea – Manchester United 

De Gea is arguably his sides best player, and his league high 16 clean sheets owes more to his own individual brilliance than his teams defensive solidity.

Right-Back – Kyle Walker – Manchester City

Has fully justified his decision to swap Spurs for Man City last summer by playing a starring role in his sides superb title win.

Centre-Back – Jan Vertonghen – Spurs

Has stepped up to the plate in the absence of Toby Alderweireld to prove himself to be one of the leagues top defenders.

Centre-Back – Nicolas Otamendi – Manchester City

Otamendi has come on leaps and bounds this season. The Argentina international has minimised the erratic errors that once plagued his game and his distribution has been a key part of how Man City have been able to dominate games all season.

Left-Back – Marcos Alonso – Chelsea 

Superb in attack and defence. One of the few bright sparks in an otherwise disappointing season for Chelsea

Embed from Getty Images

Right-Midfield – David Silva – Manchester City

The mercurial Spanish international is one of the most technically gifted footballers the Premier League has ever seen. He has had overcome personal adversity this season, but has still managed to maintain his ability to be one of the key cogs in Pep Guardiola’s winning machine. Eight goals and 11 assists make this his most productive season in English football.

Centre-Midfield – Kevin De Bruyne – Manchester City

It is looking more and more likely that Mo Salah will pip De Bruyne to the PFA Player of the Year award, but that should in no way diminish just what a superb season the Belgian international has had. Some of the 26-year-old’s passing has been as good as it gets this season. De Bruyne’s 15 assists is a league high and many of his seven goals have come in his sides biggest games of the season.

Left-Midfield – Christian Eriksen – Spurs 

Eriksen’s 10 goals and nine assists this season have once again cemented his place as one of the Premier League’s top playmakers. The 26-year-old’s wonderful long range strike against Chelsea was also one of the finest goals we have seen this campaign.

Forward – Mohamed Salah – Liverpool

Salah has been a revelation since moving to Anfield from Roma last summer. His 30 goals and nine assists have exceeded the expectations of even the most optimistic of Reds fans, and mean he is now the clear favourite to win the PFA Player of the Year award. His sensational goal scoring feats are made all the more remarkable by the fact his does not play as a traditional striker.

Embed from Getty Images

Forward – Sergio Aguero – Manchester City

Finally Aguero has been recognised by his peers and included in the team of the season. The Argentina international’s 21 goals in just 24 appearances is obviously hugely impressive, but also makes you wonder just how many he could score if he ever stayed fit for an entire season. Aguero is now City’s all time leading goalscorer and only needs one more goal to become the first player in history to score 200 goals for the Citizens.

Forward – Harry Kane – Spurs 

Not only have Kane’s 26 strikes in 33 games confirmed his place as one of the top out-and-out strikers in World Football, the Spurs captain also reached the landmark of having scored 100 Premier League goals by the age of just 24. The lethal hitman has a real chance at breaking Alan Shearers record of 26o Premier League goals.

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments