alvaro morata chelsea
in ,

Premier League stars miss out as Spain announce World Cup squad

A number of Premier League stars have been the handed the disappointing news that they will not be going to this summer’s World Cup after Spain became the latest nation to announce their squad for this summer’s tournament.

Julen Lopetegui has named four Premier League players in his squad, with David De Gea, David Silva, Cesar Azpilicueta and Nacho Monreal all included.

However while the Premier League will be represented within the Spain squad, there are plenty of English football’s big name players who have not been selected, including four from Chelsea.

Lopetegui has decided that the Blues quartet of Alvaro Morata, Cesc Fabregas, Marcos Alonso and Pedro have not done well enough over the course of this season to warrant a place in his side, after Antonio Conte’s side could only achieve a fifth place finish.

After suffering disappointment in the FA Cup final at the weekend, Manchester United duo Ander Herrera and Juan Mata have also been excluded.

While Arsenal left back Nacho Monreal was selected to represent his country, his Gunners team-mate Hector Bellerin failed to force his way into the squad with Dani Carvajal the first choice right-back. Liverpool’s Alberto Moreno also missed out, although with Andy Robertson having become the first choice left-back for the Reds, this is hardly a surprise.

Spain begin their World Cup campaign against Portugal on 15 June in Sochi.

Spain squad in full

Goalkeepers: David de Gea (Manchester United), Pepe Reina (Napoli), Kepa Arrizabalaga (Athletic Bilbao).

Defenders: Jordi Alba (Barcelona), Nacho Monreal (Arsenal), Alvaro Odriozola (Real Sociedad), Nacho Fernandez (Real Madrid), Dani Carvajal (Real Madrid), Gerard Pique (Barcelona), Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid), Cesar Azpilicueta (Chelsea).

Midfielders: Sergio Busquets (Barcelona), Isco (Real Madrid), Thiago Alcantara (Bayern Munich), David Silva (Manchester City), Andres Iniesta (Barcelona), Saul Niguez (Atletico Madrid), Koke (Atletico Madrid).

Forwards: Marco Asensio (Real Madrid), Iago Aspas (Celta Vigo), Diego Costa (Atletico Madrid), Rodrigo Moreno (Valencia), Lucas Vazquez (Real Madrid).

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments