Sunday, May 26, 2024
HomePremier LeagueErling Haaland named FWA Footballer of the Year

Erling Haaland named FWA Footballer of the Year

Erling Haaland has been named as the Football Writers’ Association Men’s Footballer of the Year for 2022/23.

Haaland has won the prestigious award after a record-breaking first season in the Premier League, one which has seen the forward score 35 goals in 32 league appearances for Manchester City.


The Norwegian has broken numerous records, including for the most goals ever scored in a Premier League season. The 22-year-old has 51 goals in all competitions for the treble-chasing Citizens, making his season the highest-scoring campaign for an English club since the Second World War.

Haaland’s goals have propelled City’s push for a treble this season, with Pep Guardiola’s side top of the Premier League table, into the FA Cup final and in the Champions League semi-finals.

City face Real Madrid in the second leg of that latter tie next week, having drawn 1-1 in the Spanish capital on Tuesday.

Haaland received 82% of the votes to win the award ahead of Arsenal duo Martin Odegaard and Bukayo Saka.

Chelsea striker Sam Kerr has won the Women’s Footballer of the Year award and the duo will be presented with their accolades at a ceremony in London on May 25th.

Read – Six of the best bargains from the Premier League season

Read Also – Ranking the five best centre-backs in world football right now

Subscribe to our social channels:

Facebook | Instagram | Twitter | YouTube

Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Most Popular

Related Posts