gareth southgate
in ,

England World Cup squad announced

There is less than one month to go until the World Cup kicks off, and competing nations are starting to finalise their plans. England are the latest to announce their squad for the tournament in Russia next month.

While the majority of the side could probably have been picked in advance by any old Tom, Dick or Harry, there were a few question marks surrounding certain players. Those question marks can now be erased as Gareth Southgate has selected the 23 players charged with leading England to their first World Cup glory since 1966.

As usual with tournament squad announcements, there is often an unexpected name thrown into the squad that has come out of left field, and this year is no different, with Liverpool defender Trent Alexander-Arnold getting his first international call up.

It has been a brilliant season for the youngster, and while his inclusion seems to have raised a few eyebrows, its certainly a deserved inclusion and he could even get some games. While Kyle Walker will be the first choice right back/wing back, he did in fact start the last international match as one of the back three, potentially leaving a space for TAA to get games.

Meanwhile, Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain’s injury means that there was a space in central midfield, and while there have been calls to include Jonjo Shelvey, Southgate seemingly ignored them and gave a recall to Fabian Delph.

Chris Smalling’s international exile continues with Southgate not a fan of the Man Utd defenders ability on the ball, while the biggest exclusion must be that of Joe Hart, who has struggled while on loan at West Ham.

Here is the full England squad

Butland – Stoke
Pickford – Everton
Pope – Burnley

Alexander-Arnold – Liverpool
Cahill – Chelsea
Jones – Man Utd
Maguire – Leicester
Rose – Tottenham
Stones – Man City
Trippier – Tottenham
Walker – Man City
Young – Man Utd

Alli – Tottenham
Delph – Man City
Dier – Tottenham
Henderson – Liverpool
Lingard – Man Utd
Loftus-Cheek – Crystal Palace
Sterling – Man City

Kane – Tottenham
Rashford – Man Utd
Vardy – Leicester
Welbeck – Arsenal

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments