Manchester United Football Club were cruelly dumped out of the Champions League last night, as Louis van Gaal’s side suffered a 3-2 defeat away at Wolfsburg. As the first half was coming to an end, Manchester United thought they had equalised, but for an extremely late call by the linesman.
It seemed as though when the linesman was surrounded by Wolfsburg players he immediately changed his mind, but later it became apparent that Juan Mata had interfered with play as he was in the goalkeepers line of sight.
To make matters worse, that decision is now the correct call, but if it was last season the goal would have stood due to a change in the rules. Former referee Graham Poll has confirmed that this goal would have stood last term, to really stick the knife in for the Manchester United fans and players alike.